Late Summer's Blog

Embrace the Accidents

Super Bowl Ad Causes Backlash? How Sad.

I know I did a post on a Super Bowl ad yesterday, but after finally getting the news about the Coca Cola ad late last night, I knew I needed to do another post about ads today. Obviously I’ll be focusing on the Coca Cola Super Bowl ad that is sparking debates across America due to the song “America the Beautiful” being sung partially in other languages. The ad can be viewed in the video above.

I have to say first and foremost that I am so disappointed with the racist comments coming from so many Americans over this ad. And there certainly have been a lot of them. One that really floored me when I looked these comments up this morning was this one:

Coca Cola is the official soft drink of illegals crossing the border.

I’d like to go ahead and mention something that I’ve been thinking about since seeing this debate pop up over and over during the past few hours. Coca Cola isn’t solely in America. How many people knew that? How many people actually knew that and just didn’t bother to think it through before posting ignorant comments online? That’s right: you can buy Coca Cola in literally 200 countries today. And yeah, I know, that has nothing to do with the ad. But if you think about it, it kind of does. How many people in those 200 countries come to America or are planning to come to America every single day? I guarantee it’s quite a large number. What are they supposed to do after getting here – never drink another Coca Cola product again? That seems sort of cruel.

Okay, let me ask another question. Let’s say you’re American and your first language is English. But now you’re wanting to move to some other country. So you spend time learning the native language of that country because that’s typically what a person does when moving to another country that has a different primary language. When you get to said country do you just stop speaking English entirely? Are you really saying that you’re never going to speak English again? Yeah, I’m betting you feel a little silly upon me mentioning that one huh? Why? Because no, you’re not going to stop speaking English entirely. You’re never going to forget your mother tongue. In fact, you’re probably even still going to make thoughts in your mother tongue and just translate it when you actually speak it. Do you really think immigrants coming here to America are going to stop speaking and thinking in their mother tongue?

So really, I have to ask, what was so horrible about Coca Cola making an ad of people singing “America the Beautiful” in different languages? There’s a reason we let so many immigrants come here you know. It’s because we want everyone to feel equal no matter what or who they are. Are we really being that welcoming by posting crude comments like this online:

“America being overridden by multiple cultures and languages will divide and weaken us, not make us stronger. #SpeakEnglish #SpeakAmerican.”

So much for the country that was founded by immigrants huh? Again, I feel utterly disappointed in the Americans that have been doing this. Because let’s be honest: is it really all that American to treat the immigrants that are coming and trying to come here this way?

On a side note: did anyone happen to catch that the majority of the M&M’s ad wasn’t in English either? Nope – didn’t think so. I haven’t seen a backlash about that ad with people saying they’re switching to some other sort of candy. And personally I hope I don’t see a backlash over an ad like this ever again. Makes me pretty sad.

 

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

